The East Africa Community: Will it Bring Prosperity to the Region?



    The East African Community (EAC) functions as an intergovernmental entity, bringing together seven nations in the Great Lakes region of East Africa. The current EAC chairman is Évariste Ndayishimiye, the current President of Burundi. The EAC is comprised of the following nations:

    • Democratic Republic of the Congo
    • United Republic of Tanzania
    • Republic of Kenya
    • Burundi
    • Rwanda
    • South Sudan
    • Uganda

    The EAC was established in 1967, experienced a collapse in 1977, and underwent revival on 7 July 2000. In 2008, following negotiations with the Southern African Development Community (SADC) and the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), the EAC agreed to an expanded free trade area that encompasses member states from all three organisations. It is important to note that the EAC plays a significant role as part of the broader African Economic Community. [source]

    The rest of this content is locked and only accessible to Secret Plan, Top Secret Plan, Secret Plan Annual , and Top Secret Plan Annual members only.
    Login Join Now

    Julia Day
    Julia Day
    Julia is an intelligence analyst pursuing a BA in International Affairs and Italian Studies at John Cabot University in Rome, Italy. Her main areas of interest include security in the Mediterranean Sea, European affairs and naval studies.

    Table of contents


    Get the weekly email from Grey Dynamics that makes reading intel articles and reports actually enjoyable. Join our mailing list to stay in the loop for free!

    Related contents

    Learn to create professional videos and have fun in the process of creating videos.
    Video Review And Collaboration.
    Get Started
    Subscribe to our Free Newsletter!